Tags

What I’m Reading This Week

Happy Monday!

I know. I haven’t posted anything the whole last week, but since I’ve only just begun blogging, I reserve the right to excuse my laziness/procrastination with the mounds and mounds of schoolwork I’m assigned everyday. In any case, that hasn’t stopped me from reserving library book copies, and it certainly hasn’t stopped me from making lists of the books I’ll be reading in the days to come. (I don’t know about anyone else, but there’s something so satisfying about making lists, regardless of if any of the activities on them will go unnoticed in the future. It’s the thought that counts.) Here are the books/other works I plan to read – and maybe or maybe not – complete this week!

1. Romeo and Juliet, by William Shakespeare

r_jI thought it only fair to begin my week with school work, since I’m constantly procrastinating, and Romeo and Juliet is a literary work. It’s a book, even. I’ve already begun reading it, and in fact, I’m about halfway through it, but I’m at that stage of Shakespeare where I understand mostly what’s going on but can’t really make a decision about liking or not liking the piece until I’ve finished the whole thing. I think it’s because I’ve read countless retellings of this particular play, memorized lines from this play before even glancing at it, and all of that just made the experience a little underwhelming? In high school, we didn’t have R & J to read in grade nine; our school probably thought it was “inappropriate” (I know) and had us read Julius Caesar instead. Anyway, when I do finish my Shakespeare course, I’ll probably have a delightful (for me) post all about my recommendations, and I have no idea yet if this will make it there.

2. When the Moon Was Ours, by Anna-Marie McLemore

w_mThis book. Excited me. So much. When I read its description on Goodreads, I knew I had to get my hands on it immediately, and moreso because of the reviews (the description is a little vague, admittedly). From what I can generate from my very, very early understanding, it’s about two close friends, Miel and Sam, who both have their own individual narratives (Sam being a trans boy, I believe – if I’m wrong I do apologize; and Miel being a girl from whose wrists roses bloom) that convulge in this story about a group of sisters that are said to be witches who want to take the roses that Miel grows. I watered it down a lot because my explanation sucks, but the part that did hook me was that I’d never really explored magical realism aside from required reading, and the concept of that, mixed with the “folk”-esque atmosphere around this setting, the cultured narrative, and the diversity (ethnically, combined with and alongside the trans narrative), all seem very intriguing and powerful. I feel like this book will change my life, and I’ve only just begun it (page 32), but I’m excited to finish it.

3. Dead Girls Society, by Michelle Krys

d_gI remember that there was a little bit of buzz about this book (or maybe I’m imagining it) on Goodreads and I remember putting it off because at the time, I was in a phase of reading new adult and YA fantasy, and not thrillers. Maybe it’s the colder weather, but I’m the kind of reader that prefers gruesome, dark, or thrilling books in the winter than in any other season, and I spotted this book and took the opportunity to reserve it. I’m barely five pages in; I’d put it down for a few weeks to read None of the Above instead, but I’m determined to get back to it. This is a story about Hope, a girl who has cystic fibrosis whose opportunities are held back because of her CF. She receives an invitation to a mysterious group called the Society, and she takes the opportunity to get some control over her life, but she doesn’t realize that she’ll have to complete a few dangerous dares for the group to win her money – and that she has no choice. It sounds very exciting, and I think there’s a friends-to-lovers romance going on here, which is always greattttt.

4. Trouble Is a Friend of Mine, by Stephanie Tromly

t_fI saw someone post a review about this book’s sequel, Trouble Makes a Comeback, on Goodreads, which is what made me look at this book’s blurb. I’m always excited for these investigative, detective-ish YA fiction, especially after having read – and loved – Ellie Marney’s Every trilogy, and Gemma Halliday’s Deadly Cool books. I hear this one is funny, suspenseful, and cute at the same time, which is what drives me to give it a try. I love the cover especially, for some reason. Something about that font means I will like the book (or maybe I’m biased after reading Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda? idk). I have its sequel as well, but I’m not making any promises to myself about finishing both books this week. (But one may hope.)

It looks a little ridiculous to only be reading four books a week (to me, at least), since there was a time when I could finish seven or eight a week, and tens of them in a month. But sadly, university has sucked me into its woes, and I actually prefer to digest every book I read at a time. It’s healthy and it’s fun.

Have a great week!

– W

Leave a Reply

